Chronicled Beauty

One girl's journey through the makeup industry

First Impression of Revlon’s NEW Nearly Naked Foundation January 27, 2013

Today I will be doing a first impression review of Revlon’s new Nearly Naked Foundation.  

So this is how a first impression works:  I’ll show you a picture of myself with prepped skin, moisturizer, eye cream and primer, which I use on a daily basis.  Then I’ll show a picture of the foundation on and describe the texture, fragrance, feel, coverage level, etc.  Lastly, I’ll do a final review at the end of the day, along with a picture, to show the longevity of the product and how it wears through the day.  So, here we go!

The NEW foundation from Revlon runs about $10.00 at most drugstore locations.  The color range has 16 shades to choose from which is great for a drugstore foundation.  Revlon claims this foundation will balance the skin with buildable coverage of flaws, perfect the skin’s tone and texture, and does not leave a heavy or cakey/greasy mess.

First, here is my NO MAKEUP self – darkest dark circles you’ll ever see and all – but you know what, I just do not care!  This is for YOU guys!

Image

The next photo is with JUST the foundation and last is of my full-face makeup.

Image

Here, you can tell that it definitely does even my skin tone. While my monster dark circles are still present, I’ve found that ONLY my heavy duty concealer does the trick of covering those babies.

Image

I’ve finished with the rest of my makeup here. I did not use any powder to set the foundation at all because I think it gives a really NATURAL glow to the skin without looking shiny at all, which I love in a foundation. It did take around 20 minutes for the foundation to set by itself, meaning to fully dry.

As of now, I’m LOVING this foundation.  It feels super light on the skin and I think I did good on the color selection which is ALWAYS hard buying from the drugstore.  It does have a slight scent to it but that doesn’t last long whatsoever. I think it looks really natural and this definitely allows my skin to show through while still giving good coverage.

I put the foundation on at 11:24 and I’m going to give the foundation 8 hours to sit on my skin before reviewing again to see how well it lasts through the day.  I will update with my final thoughts and grade around 7 tonight!

image (14)

8 hours later!

Here is a picture of the makeup 8 hours after first application.  I think it lasted great, coverage-wise, throughout the day.  As you can tell from this picture my forehead and nose are GLOWING so I recommend if you have combination/oily skin to add a setting powder on any areas that get oily through the day or purchase the pressed powder that accompanies this foundation.  I didn’t apply any setting powder in order to see how the foundation truly wore through the day.  
Overall, I am super pleased with the Nearly Naked Foundation and I would give it a A-.

If you have any products you want my First Impression review on please leave a comment below and I’ll be happy to try it out!

 

3 Responses to “First Impression of Revlon’s NEW Nearly Naked Foundation”

  1. Aunt Chicken Says:

    You look beautiful as always!!! How do you recommend picking out the color that will work for each individual? I don’t know how to attempt to select the correct shade for me.

    • Holly B Says:

      Thank you! It depends on where you’re purchasing the foundation. If you’re in a department store or Sephora/Ulta, get someone to match you and go to a window and check the shade in the sunlight! If you can’t get to natural sunlight get a sample of the foundation along with a shade lighter and a shade darker. As far as buying foundation from a drugstore – I would take a foundation that you already have with you and compare them side-by-side. Also, make sure that you’re drugstore has an opened product return policy. The CVS I get most of my drugstore makeup from is great about allowing me to return things that don’t work, even if I have opened it.

  2. […] First Impression of Revlon’s NEW Nearly Naked Foundation (chronicledbeauty.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

