Chronicled Beauty

One girl's journey through the makeup industry

Big City Trends for a Small Town Girl January 28, 2013

Living in a small town in Southwest Virginia, it’s hard to execute runway trends on a day to day basis. I don’t know about you ladies, and gents, but if I were to walk into the grocery store wearing this:

christian-dior-spring-2013-runway-beauty

Dior Spring 2013

I would get the most awkward stares from each person who laid eyes on me. Now I’m not saying my confidence wouldn’t allow me to do this, or that I’m afraid of embarrassing myself, but it’s just not practical. It’s fun for a night out but even this exact look is a bit much for anything OTHER than the runway or editorial shoots.

This post is going to give you a small town version of big city runway trends for Spring/Summer 2013. I will break down the hottest trends and show you how I think it’s best to make it as wearable as possible on an everyday basis, or for a fun night out makeup look.

To start this weekly series, lets begin with the BIGGEST trend, and in my opinion the most exciting, for Spring/Summer 2013 on the runways is FRESH, GLOWING SKIN. Who DOESN’T want fresh looking skin that gives a youthful glow??? No one! Designer’s like Dolce & Gabbana, Valentino and DKNY had their modeling showing off that ethereal glow that we all long for!

hbz-makeup-trend-ss13-glowing-skin-Dolce-e-Gabb-lgn

Dolce & Gabbana

hbz-makeup-trend-ss13-red-lips-Burberry-lgn

Burberry

These are a few of my favorite highlighting products that I would use to leave your skin aglow!

image (10)

Chanel – Soleil Tan de Chanel, Benefit – Watts Up, MAC – Shroom Eyeshadow, Lorac – Luminzer in Perfectly Lit

When wearing products to give your skin that glow, first make sure you’re placing it in the right areas – tops of the cheek bones, Cupid’s bow, directly under your brows and down the bridge of the nose. The whole idea behind highlighting is to place it where the sun would naturally hit! Next, don’t use much shimmer in the rest of your makeup. You don’t want your entire face to be SHINING in the light. Place a setting powder through your T-zone to counteract the shiny look where you naturally get oily through the day.

Another thing I love is on some of the runways the designers had their models with glowing skin, no much on the cheeks or eyes whatsoever, and a bright pink or red lip. This really accentuates that youthful feel and is perfect for the Spring months that we are all longing for!!

image (15)

Here is a subtle glow to the skin and a super bright lip!

I hope you all can try to recreate the runway looks I’ve shown and if you do, PLEASE let me know how it turns out!

Are there any new products on the market that you may want a First Impression on?

Leave a comment below with any suggestions!

 

2 Responses to “Big City Trends for a Small Town Girl”

  1. I love the Burberry look with the bright lip! I’ve been loving lipstick lately. I always wear natural makeup … I couldn’t pull off the Dior look either!

    • Holly B Says:

      I have been having a little addiction to lipsticks for the last month too! I’ve bought so many from the drugstore! I usually wear nude lipstick everyday but every single lipstick I’ve bought recently is really vibrant or deep burgundy or red and I’m so happy I’m making the transition! You should try it!


Leave a Reply

