Chronicled Beauty

One girl's journey through the makeup industry

January Favorites February 1, 2013

When it comes to my makeup, the only way I can determine if something is a “favorite” of mine is when I grab for it everyday!  I’ve seen so many products come and go from the top of my vanity to STUFFED into one of my vanity drawers but there have been some things in the month of January that I’ve made sure to keep in clear sight so I won’t forget them.  Here are a few makeup products that my face hasn’t been able to live without this month.

DSC_0524

Josie Maran Argan Color Stick in Petal Pink

This cream blush is great for my skin in the colder months – it doesn’t dry my cheeks and gives a subtle glow alongside a beautiful pinky rose hue.  It also has Vitamin E and essential fatty acids, it’s 100% organic, chemical-free and as an added bonus you can use this on your lips or eyes for a rosy pout or youthful looking eye.

Nivea Lip Butter in Rasberry Rose Kiss

I had been eyeing this lip balm for awhile now in my local drugstore and FINALLY got it a few weeks ago and I am so glad I did.  I use this on a daily basis for either a base for my lipsticks or alone as a hydrating lip balm.  It smells divine but the KICKER for me is that it doesn’t TASTE at all.  I’m the type that can’t stand tasting my lipstick, lip balm or gloss so this product gets two thumbs up!

Revlon Nearly Naked Foundation 

Let me tell you, this is one amazing drugstore product.  I’m weary about buying foundations from the drugstore because there are NEVER, ever, samples to test the shade, consistency, scent, etc.  I’ve read and heard so many great things about this foundation, I had to try it myself.  The first day I tried this foundation my husband came home from work and gave me such beautiful compliments so that told me all I needed to know!  I did a full “first impression” review on this product as well: https://chronicledbeauty.wordpress.com/category/first-impressions/.

 Loreal Infallible Eye Shadow in Amber Rush

I’ve had this in my collection for awhile and unfortunately had not touched it in way too long!  My daughter, Ava, who LOVES going through my vanity drawers and pretending to put on makeup just like her mommy, pulled this out and said “Have it?” in the most adorable voice you could imagine.  Thank you, Ava, for re-introducing me to a beautiful shadow that I use constantly now!  It’s a highly-pigmented pale, pinky, bronzy color (like that description, don’t you?) and it’s the shade I’ve been wearing on a daily basis since Ava pulled it out.

On to the lipsticks, my new obsession…

Maybelline Color Sensational in Fruit Punch, Covergirl Lip Perfection in Flame, Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter in Sugar Plum and Maybelline Color Sensational in Peachy Scene

Every, single, day I have worn one of these lipsticks.  I think it’s become a problem because each time I put one on I feel like I’m cheating on another – it’s almost sad how much I love these colors.  Each one has a great consistency and while I may need to touch some up more than others, I’m more than willing to do it.  The color payoff for these is great as well.   I think because it’s been so flippin’ freezing here in Virginia recently these lipstick shades all remind me of those warm spring days and summer nights that I can’t wait any longer for!!  So thank you Maybelline, Covergirl and Revlon for giving me a bit of springtime jitters, every day!

Benefit Watt’s Up Highlighter 

I received this sample from Sephora as a birthday gift a few days into January and I’ve been constantly using it.  It’s a beautiful champagne shade and I think it gives a perfect subtle amount of glow to the skin.  I am running out of it quicker than I anticipated so the full-version will be on my vanity very soon!

So that’s it, my favorites for January 2013 are right there!  I can’t wait to share all the things I’m loving each month with you makeup loving beauties.

Now, I want to know what has been your #1 product you have grabbed for the most this past month?

C49408F99BEA85E619F8E6F8C36CA817

 

Leave a Reply

