Chronicled Beauty

One girl's journey through the makeup industry

Favorite Spring Lip Products March 17, 2013

Spring is on the brink of breaking through so I thought I’d share some of my favorite Spring lip products!  

DSC_0199

Maybelline

DSC_0200

On Fire Red, Nearly There, Fruit Punch

On Fire Red is a part of the VIVID collection by Maybelline.  This range of lipsticks is such a hit from Maybelline.  They are SUPER opaque and creamy to apply.  This shade, On Fire Red, is a bold, true-red color.  It’s highly pigmented and lasts pretty well.  I do find that you have somewhat of a stain left behind when it does wear off which is a great thing IMO.  You do have to be careful when applying and I recommend applying a lipliner beforehand to prevent bleeding and help guide the shape.  The Vivid lipsticks are found at drugstores and are priced at $7.49.

Nearly There from Maybelline has been in my collection since highschool.  I have always turned to this shade as my go-to nude color.  It is a nude with pink undertones which works well with my own lipcolor.  It does have a slight gold shimmer but it’s not obnoxiously noticeable.  It lasts well through the day and although I do have to touch up after a couple of hours I don’t mind the hassle because I love the shade so much!  This color is a part of their permanent ColorSensational collection and is priced at $7.49.

Fruit Punch is a new addition to the Color Sensational range by Maybelline.  I purchased this color a couple of months ago and I put it on 2-3 times a week because it’s just so gorgeous.  It’s a beautiful strawberry, pink shade with a tiny bit of golden shimmer.  I think the color payoff is great with this shade and a perfect way to brighten your face.  I usually pair this with a simple eye look and soft foundation so that the lips are the main attraction.  This shade is $7.49 as well.

DSC_0203

Revlon

DSC_0204

Lilac, Temptress, Softsilver Red, Sugar Plum, Berry Smoothie

First, Lilac is an old lipstick from Revlon I’ve rediscovered and I’m so glad I did.  It’s a beautiful soft, purple shade and it’s so easy to wear.  When I think about purple lipsticks, I don’t think attractive but this is such a soft shade of purple it really works well.  This lipstick has great pigmentation and is super hydrating.  I think this would work great with tan, olive or medium tone complexions.  It is priced at $7.99.

Temptress is a shade in the Revlon Super Lustrous collection.  It’s creamy texture makes it moisturizing on the lips and is a beautiful soft pink color.  It does have a small amount of gold shimmer to it but again, nothing too obnoxious.  I really love this shade in the spring/summer months.  It gives a youthful glow to any makeup look.  It’s $7.99 at local drugstores.

Softsilver Red is an addition to the same Super Lustrous collection.  This has more of a frost finish, which I’m not a HUGE fan of, but when I pair it with a gloss the frosty finish is not so bad.  I really do love the shade, it’s a rosy, deeper red color.  This color would look stunning on tan skin in the midst of the summer months!  This lipstick is also $7.99.

Here we are at the Revlon Lip Butters.  They have completely stole my heart!  Sugar Plum is a sheer mauve shade.  The best thing about any of the Lip Butter’s is their creamy, moisturizing finish.  I mean, I can’t say enough about how much I love the formula of these lipsticks.  They don’t have the best longevity but their consistency is such a wonder to apply that I don’t mind it one bit.  You can build the color with a few coats but it won’t go on too opaque so beware of that.  

Berry Smoothie has been in my collection since the Lip Butter range released. I LOVE this sheer shade of berry pink.  It’s got some gold shimmer to it and it leaves a super glossy finish to the lips.  No need for gloss with these bad girls! 🙂  The Lip Butter’s are $7.49.

DSC_0206

Maybelline Color Whispers

DSC_0208

Pin Up Peach, Mocha Muse

Now, the Maybelline Color Whisper’s have not been my favorite formula.  I like to have more opaque shades of lipstick but for someone who just wants a sheer wash of color to their lips these are PERFECT.  I do find that they’re a little drying but if I apply a lip balm or gloss on top I’m good to go.

Pin Up Peach is a sheer pinky peach color.  I usually wear this when I’m on the go and need something quick but it’s a beautiful soft color that is an everyday lipstick!

Mocha Muse is a pinky brown shade that I do find I grab for a lot.  It’s a soft nude color on my already pink lips so it tones them down a little.  I do like that they’re so easy to apply, no need for a mirror as the color is so sheer you could easily wipe away any excess color from the edges of your lip line.  These are $7.49.

DSC_0211

Lip gloss

DSC_0213

NARS – Female Trouble, Revlon – Peony
Revlon – Coral Reef, Benefit – Dandelion

On to my favorite lip products!  Gloss is such an easy product for me.  I have naturally pink lips so just adding a little gloss on by itself is a quick and easy way to add some dimension to my lips.

NARS’ Female Trouble – #1 lip product of all time for me.  I got this in Chicago at The Makeup Show last summer and have purchased two more since then.  It’s my everyday gloss that I couldn’t live without.  It cancels out the pink in my lips to leave such a beautiful mauve, mid-tone purple to my lips.  I just LOVE it.  I also add it to any newer shade of lipstick that I try, and maybe don’t quite love the color.  If I add this gloss on top of a not-so-right shade of lipstick it immediately corrects it.  It’s priced at $25.00 and can be found at Sephora or NARS’ website.

Revlon Peony is a BEAUTIFUL peach gloss that can easily be worn alone for a little bit of sheer color.  The bits of gold glitter in the gloss leave a beautiful shine to the lips.  It’s not sticky at all and feels great on the lips.  This can be found at any drugstore at $7.49.

Revlon Color Reef is another BRIGHT coral shade that’s perfect for spring or summer.  It’s a quick pick-me-up shade and if you layer the color becomes more opaque.  This is $7.49 as well.

Benefit Dandelion is a gloss I got in a set with blush and highlighter.  I find that I can add this gloss on top of ANY lipstick to give a little shine and it works beautifully.  I absolutely LOVE the smell of this lip gloss too – it just immediately makes me think of spring flowers and candy all together.  This can be found at Benefit’s website or at Sephora or Ulta for $16.00.

So, there you have all of my favorite spring lip products!  Most can be found for a great price at the drugstore and the ones that are a little pricey are well worth the price, IMO.

Let me know what some of your favorite Spring shades of lip products are in the comments below!

C49408F99BEA85E619F8E6F8C36CA817

 

Leave a Reply

